Felt News

Farrar Wins Again! Stage 4 victory is his third in Eneco Tour!

Saturday, August 22, 2009
Tyler Farrar jetted to another win aboard his Felt F1 Garmin-Slipstream team bike at the Eneco Tour in Belgium on Saturday. It was the 25-year-old sprinting sensation’s third stage win of the eight-day race through Belgium and The Netherlands, and the victory allowed him to solidify his hold on the overall race lead.

Farrar (second from far left, in white leader's jersey) narrowly edged out Edvald Boasson Hagen (Columbia-HTC) and Francesco Gavazzi (Lampre) in a hard-fought sprint at the end of the 221-kilometer stage from Hasselt to Libramont.

Farrar was a surprise winner on a hilly day in the Ardennes. The race featured a flurry of breakaways in the final hour, but Farrar’s Garmin-Slipstream team fought to bring them all back, and the American impressed everyone with his ability to make it over the climbs and take the win.

Bradley Wiggins, Farrar’s Garmin-Slipstream teammate, was in one of the day’s many breakaways, but was caught by the peloton. Wiggins ended the day in seventh overall, 37 seconds behind Farrar.

Belgian national champion Tom Boonen is now second overall, 20 seconds behind Farrar, followed by Boasson Hagen in third.

Sunday’s stage travels into The Netherlands and features many of the same roads as the Amstel Gold spring classic race. Farrar will have his work cut out from him on a course that favors climbers but says he will try once again to hold his lead.

Eneco Tour, August 18-25
Belgium and The Netherlands

Stage 4
1. Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin-Slipstream, 5:27:01   
2. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor), Columbia-HTC, same time
3. Francesco Gavazzi (Ita), Lampre-NGC, same time
4. Greg Van Avermaet (Bel), Silence-Lotto, same time
5. Kristof Goddaert (Bel), Topsport-Vlaanderen-Mercator, same time

Overall standings
1. Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin-Slipstream, 17:51:13
2. Tom Boonen (Bel) Quick Step, at 0:20
3. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Team Columbia-HTC, at 0:23     
4. Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Quick Step, at 0:35
5. Maarten Tjallingii (Ned), Rabobank, at 0:37   
7. Bradley Wiggins (GB) Garmin-Slipstream, at 00:27