Felt News

Farrar breaks through at Giro!

Sunday, May 09, 2010
The Netherlands Tyler Farrar of the Garmin-Transitions team survived a day of crashes, including one that took him down with less than 50 kilometers to go, to win a wild Stage 2 of the Giro d’Italia in The Netherlands on Sunday.
After several near misses in last year’s Giro, Farrar broke through to take his first ever Giro stage win on his Felt F1 team bike.

"It’s fantastic to have won,” Farrar said after outsprinting Australian Matthew Goss and Italian Fabio Sabatini at the end of the 209km stage in Utrecht, The Netherlands. “It’s certainly one of the special ones.”

Stage 2 was the second of three days’ racing in The Netherlands, before the race moves to Italy for the remaining two-and-a-half weeks. The flat but twisty route from Amsterdam to Utrecht challenged riders with narrow roads and obstacles.

There were a handful of big crashes in the final 50km, including one that took down Farrar. His teammates dropped back and paced Farrar back to the main field, keeping him out of trouble until the finish. David Millar and Julian Dean protected Farrar in the final kilometer, keeping him near the front around a tight righthand corner 250 meters from the finish. From there, Farrar made his move, holding off everyone to take the win.

The crashes split the field into groups, and race leader Bradley Wiggins was caught out, losing 37 seconds to Farrar’s lead group. The American now sits second overall, just 1 second behind race leader Cadel Evans of Australia. His teammate Millar is now fifth overall, 4 seconds back.

Monday’s stage 4 travels from Amsterdam to Middleburg and is expected to come down to another sprint.

May 8-30

Stage 2, Amsterdam-Utrecht. 209km
1. Tyler Farrar (USA), Garmin-Transitions, 4:56:46
2. Matthew Goss (Aus), HTC-Columbia, same time
3. Fabio Sabatini (Ita), Liquigas-Doimo, same time
4. Andre Greipel (Ger), HTC-Columbia, same time
5. Alessandro Petacchi (Ita), Lampre-Farnese Vini, same time

Overall (after Stage 2)
1. Cadel Evans (Aus), 5:07:09
2. Tyler Farrar (USA), Garmin-Transitions, at 0:01
3. Alexandre Vinokourov (Kaz), Astana, at 0:03
4. Richie Porte (Aus), Saxo Bank, same time
5. David Millar (GB), Garmin-Transitions, at 0:04